EASTER MONDAY – Press Release

Easter Monday Irish Short Circuit Championship Races 6th April 2015

Press Release: 25/03/15 (For immediate release)

The heat is on as the top flight field revs up for Easter’s “BIG THRILL” battles.

The Irish Short Circuit Championship rolls on from Bishopscourt on Easter Saturday, across Strangford Lough to Kirkistown Race Circuit.

Once again the Belfast and District Motor Club will promote the traditional and one of the most popular Short Circuit events on the racing calendar at the Ards Peninsula circuit.

They will host the next two rounds of the Irish Short Circuit Championship on Easter Monday, the 6th April at the ever popular Co Down venue, Kirkistown Race Circuit.

With over two hundred race entries it promises to be a Cracking Easter Monday!

Superbike: Competitors include Derek Shiels, Brian McCormack, Keith Amor, Jamie Hamilton, Derek McGee, Stephen Thompson and his Hungarian team mate Sandor Bitter.

The Feature race will be the Mayor’s Trophy and will be awarded to the winner of the 2nd Superbike race and with a competitive field it is sure to be a hard fought race all the way to the finish line.

Supersport is always a hold your breath class and this year is no exception. This year we have an exciting line up. In addition to their Superbike class entries, Derek Shiels, Jamie Hamilton and Keith Amor will be up against some stiff competition with the likes of Jamie Patterson, Jason Lynn, Robert Kennedy and Christian Elkin among the competitors.

Superbike Cup include entries from Robert McMurran, Paul Demaine, Seanie Smith and Ashley McLernon, this will run alongside the Formula 1 SBK Series and includes 2014 winner Chris Campbell, 2014 runner up Alvin Griffin, Andy McAllister & Chris Dilley.

Supersport Cup: A full grid of entries for this popular class include Kyle Cross, Michael Rea, Richie Ryan, Tam Nicholl and B&D Chairman Johnny McCay.

The Supertwins class has seen an explosion in popularity over the last few years and this year’s championship could be the closest yet with Paul Gartland, Christian Elkin, Jamie Hamilton and Dave Butler all fighting for glory. Running in conjunction will be the Stocktwins with Daniel Annett, brothers Luke & Matthew Hazlett, Nicole Lynch and Kia McGreevy.

The Pre Injection class: Ever increasing in popularity with riders like Steven Clarke, Steven Grier, Mervyn Griffin, Johnny Aiken, Andy McAllister and Matt Donaldson all out for a win.

The 250 GP will share the Pre Injection grid but as two separate championships. This year we have taking part Chris Blair, Keith Millen, Michael McKerr, Malcolm Love and Tommy Henry.

The Lightweight Supersport 400 has among the entries Andy McAllister, Mick Jordan, Kirk Dickey, Roy Beattie, Yvonne Montgomery, Joseph Loughlin and Peter Fletcher.

The Moto 3 class which incorporates the 125 GP machines, always sees a good mix of up and coming future talent as well as veteran GP riders and this year promises to see some upsets with young teens out for glory. Paul Robinson and Pádraig Graham may find themselves under some pressure from young Eugene McManus and Melissa Kennedy.

Sidecar entries include Scobbie Killough, Peter O’Neill, Dylan Lynch and former solo ace Jamie Masterson.

A quality line up in all classes promises to be a day full of fast, furious and fun entertainment for everyone.

Admission will be £10 per person with free entry for children under 12 (when accompanied by an adult).

Practice to get underway at 9.00 am and as with all events promoted by Belfast and District Motor Club Ltd, all classes will get sessions of both untimed and timed practice.

First race scheduled to start at 12.30 pm.

Wishing all the riders and spectators a safe and enjoyable days racing.


Belfast & District Motor Club Ltd

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.